Background information to VOICES IN THE DARK

Mike Batt has always been a musician who also sought to achieve visual representations of his work. Even at a very early stage he developed in parts complex scenarios that went beyond simple music videos. The project Zero Zero from 1982 is an example for this. For this he produced sketches of the costumes, the sets and for animation.
Of course, he also composed and produced the music. Mike created lights shows, theatre designs and projection graphics.
When he finally entered the new Hamburg Planetarium in 2005 for the first time, and the technical possibilities were presented to him, he was fascinated by the idea of developing a show for the planetarium sky.
Already on his return flight from Hamburg to London he drew first sketches in his notebook. However, his numerous other projects meant that he would only return to this subject over a year later. Straying from the original idea for this project, which was to write a new work for several orchestras, the idea of composing a new dramatic and exciting selection of works from the great store of Mike Batt’s works emerged, which was supposed to serve as an inspirational source for completely new visual worlds in the context of the planetarium. For this, different works from Mike’s most different artistic periods were selected. What is striking is that among them are also numerous orchestral works by Mike which were created under his direction with the London Symphonic Orchestra and other well-known orchestras.

Over the course of several conversations, e-mails and meetings with Terry Rudat and Sven Meyer (Dramatico Germany) different ideas for the show, which Mike named after one song he wrote VOICES IN THE DARK, were discussed and developed.
It was Mike’s wish to “create something really new and surpass visual limits”. After jointly choosing the music Mike explained to Terry Rudat his ideas behind the works, the background to the songs and visual associations. During the dialogue with Terry, who had already had experience with productions for the planetarium dome and thus, 360° video, first 3D sketches and preparations for the visualisation of the songs were made. After talking to Mike, these formed the basis for the further development of the show.

Both agreed to fuse the space of the dome projection area and the music in one complete work and in doing so connect different technologies and art forms.
That is why in VOICES IN THE DARK there are spectacular combinations of dancers and 3D animations, of super slow motion takes with up to 1,000 pictures per second and the most elaborate image constructions for which high-performance computers need up to 45 minutes for calculating one frame. One second of “movie” consists here of 30 frames. An exciting mixture of artists and machines come together for this project.

Working material included numerous computers with all together 150 processor cores of the newest generation (software, such as: After Effects; 3DS Max; Cinema 4D), as well as Full HD cameras. But above all, it is the product of the unique combination of people involved. A few, apart from Mike Batt, are mentioned here just to give an idea:

Svenya Höhle: Ballet dancer, studied ballet at The Cologne University of Music and dances for example at the Theatre in Dessau and at the Opera in Cologne. She has worked with renowned choreographers such as Robert Pool, Robert Cohan, Mark Baldwin and Philippe Talard.

Jakub Moravek, artist: Installation, video, photo. Jakub was born in 1971 in the Czech Republic, studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich and has already received several awards for his work. His works were shown in numerous gallery exhibitions such as the Pinakothek der Moderne in Munich, Center for Contemporary Art Linz and at the Haus der Kunst in Munich.

Terry Rudat, a man of many talents. He founded, among others, in the late 1970s the underground avantgarde band Sticken In and ran a recording studio. In the early 1990s he dedicated his attention to the development of multimedia applications and was responsible for the computer game SHINE as an author, director and producer. Afterwards, he worked at and for numerous media productions, for example he produced music videos for artists such as Thomas D (Die fantastischen Vier), commercials for the computer game industry (Sony) and animations for TV productions. In 2002 he produced e.g. the planetarium show “Madou und das Licht der Fantasie” with and for the German singer NENA. This show has attracted more than 60,000 visitors over the last few years.

Armin Ketter: 3D animation, received the 3D Design Awards Animago several times.

Remigiusz Pawlowski, illustrator and film maker from Poland. Graduated from the University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Göttingen. Lives and works in Berlin.
(and many more)

 

Joker

Hintergrundinformationen zu VOICES IN THE DARK

Mike Batt war schon immer ein Musiker der auch visuelle Visionen suchte. Für seine Musik entwickelte er schon sehr früh jenseits von einfachen Musikvideos teilweise komplexe Szenarien. Exemplarisch ist hier zum .Beispiel das Projekt Zero Zero von 1982 zu nennen. Hierfür zeichnete er Skizzen der Kostüme, der Sets und für die Animationen.
Selbstverständlich komponierte und produzierte er auch die Musik. Mike entwarf Light Shows, Bühnendesigns und Projektionsgrafiken.
Seit er schließlich 2005 zum ersten Mal das neue Hamburger Planetarium betrat und sich dessen technische Möglichkeiten zeigen lies, war er fasziniert von der Idee, eine Show für den Planetariums Himmel zu entwickeln.
Schon auf dem Rückflug von Hamburg nach London zeichnete er erste Skizzen in sein Notizbuch. Doch seine zahlreichen anderen Projekte brachten es mit sich, dass er dieses Thema erst über ein Jahr später wieder aufgriff. Abgekommen von der ursprünglichen Idee für dieses Projekt ein neues Werk für mehrere Orchester zu schreiben, reifte die Idee aus dem großen Fundus des vorhanden Werks von Mike Batt eine neue, dramaturgisch spannende Auswahl von Werken zusammenzustellen, die als Inspirationsquelle für vollkommen neue Bildwelten im Rahmen des Planetariums dienen sollten. Dabei wurden verschiedenste Werke aus den unterschiedlichsten Schaffensperioden von Mike ausgewählt. Auffällig ist, dass es darunter auch zahlreiche orchestrale Werke von Mike gibt, die unter seiner Leitung mit dem London Symphonic Orchestra und anderen namhaften Orchestern entstanden.

In diversen Gesprächen, E Mails und Meetings erzählte und entwickelte er mit Terry Rudat und Sven Meyer (Dramatico Deutschland) verschiedenste Ideen für die Show, die Mike nach einem von ihm geschriebenen Song VOICES IN THE DARK benannte.
Mike’s Wunsch war es „etwas wirklich Neues zu schaffen und visuelle Grenzen zu übertreten“. Nach der gemeinsamen Auswahl der Musik erklärte Mike Terry Rudat seine Ideen zu den Werken, Hintergründe zu den Songs und visuelle Assoziationen. Im Dialog mit Terry, der bereits Erfahrungen mit Produktionen für die Planetariumskuppel und damit für 360° Video hatte, entstanden erste 3D Skizzen und Ansätze für die Visualisierung der Songs. Nach Abstimmung mit Mike bildeten diese dann die Basis für die weitere Entwicklung der Show.

Beide kamen überein, die Räumlichkeit der Kuppelprojektionsfläche und die Musik zu einem Gesamtwerk zu verschmelzen und dabei verschiedenste Technologien und Kunstformen zu verbinden.
So kommt es bei VOICES IN THE DARK zu spektakulären Kombinationen von Tänzern und 3D Animationen, von Superzeitlupen Aufnahmen mit bis zu 1.000 Bildern in der Sekunde und aufwändigsten Bildkonstruktionen für die Hochleistungsrechner bis zu 45 Minuten an einem Frame rechnen. Dabei besteht eine Sekunde „Film“ hier aus 30 Frames. Für dieses Projekt kommt eine spannende Mixtur aus Künstlern und Maschinen zusammen.

Arbeitsmaterial wie zahlreiche Rechner mit insgesamt 150 Prozessor Kernen der neuesten Generation (Software z.B.: After Effects; 3DS Max; Cinema 4D) und Full HD Kameras. Aber vor allem eine einmalige Kombination von Mitwirkenden. Exemplarisch und stellvertretend seihen hier - neben Mike Batt - nur einige genannt:

Svenya Höhle: Balletttänzerin, studierte an der Hochschule für Musik in Köln Ballett und tanzte unter anderem am Theater in Dessau und an der Oper in Köln. Sie arbeite mit namhaften Choreografen wie z.B. Robert Pool, Robert Cohan, Mark Baldwin und Philippe Talard.

Jakub Moravek, Künstler: Installation, Video, Foto. Jakub wurde 1971 in Tschechien geboren, studierte an der Akademie der Künste in München und wurde für seine Arbeit bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Seine Arbeiten waren neben zahlreichen Galerieausstellungen unter anderem in der Pinakothek der Moderne in München, Centrum für Gegenwartskunst Linz und im Haus der Kunst in München zu sehen.

Terry Rudat, ein Multitalent. Gründete u.a. in den späten 70er Jahren die Underground Avantgarde Band Sticken In und betrieb ein Tonstudio. In den frühen 90er Jahren widmete er sich der Entwicklung von Multimediaapplikationen und zeichnete unter anderem als Autor, Director und Produzent des Computerspiels SHINE verantwortlich. In der Folge arbeitete er an und für zahlreiche Medienproduktionen. U.a. produzierte er Musikvideos für Künstler wie Thomas D (Die fantastischen Vier), Werbespots für die Computerspiele Industrie (Sony) und Animationen für TV Produktionen. Im Jahre 2002 produzierte er u.a. die Planetariums - Show „Madou und das Licht der Fantasie“ mit und für NENA. Die Show zog in den letzten Jahren über 60.000 Besucher an.

Armin Ketter: 3D Animation, mehrfach mit dem 3D Design Award Animago ausgezeichnet.

Remigiusz Pawlowski, Zeichner und Filmemacher aus Polen. Schloss sein Studium an der Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaft und Kunst, Göttingen ab. Lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.
(u.v.a.m.)

 

Joker